Home > napowrimo, poetry > Day One

Day One

Hello everyone! I know I’m a bit late to the game with this blog business, but I found out about NaPoWriMo earlier this week and thought it was a great idea. I’ve always been a bit of a poet, but outside of a few school publications, I’ve never really published by poetry, so this seemed like a great opportunity to not only practice writing but to also post my work somewhere for the world to see. This poem was actually written on April 2, but it’s the first poem I wrote, so I will consider it “day one.”

April
lying in bed, April
whether a season or a name
I love her passionately for her
warmth and beaming rays,
the city’s iridescence flooding out
of buildings and the treacherous Garonne;
you see otters swimming peacefully
but drifting there are corpses,
the river’s fresh prey
youthful and once so full of
life, and liquor, perhaps,
but life i think should not end
with such misplaced punctuation;

Categories: napowrimo, poetry
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

